Associated Faculty + EXTERNAL ADVISORS

* denotes a currently active advisor

* Kevin Connolly
Kevin Connolly is a poet, journalist, and editor. He is the author of four collections of poetry: Asphalt Cigar (1995), Happyland (2002), Drift (2005), which was the winner of the Trillium Book Award and Revolver (2008), which was shortlisted for the 2009 Canadian Griffin Poetry Prize. Connolly lives in Toronto with his partner, writer Gil Adamson. 

* Margaret ChristakosMargaret Christakos is a widely published Canadian poet with nine collections of poetry, including Excessive Love Prostheses (2002, ReLit winner), Sooner (2005) and What Stirs (2008), both Pat Lowther Award nominees, and Welling (2010, a Globe100 Book). Her most recent poetry is Multitudes (2013). She has also published a novel, Charisma (2001, a Trillium nominee) and an intergenre memoir, Her Paraphernalia: On Motherlines, Sex/Blood/Loss & Selfies. She received an Excellence in Teaching Award from U of T (2009), including for her work curating and facilitating Influency: A Toronto Poetry Salon, and has been appointed Writer in Residence at the U. of Windsor, at Western and (in 2017/18) at the U. of Alberta. She holds a B.F.A. Visual Arts (York, 1985), and M.A. Education (U of T, 1995).

 photo credit: Mark Raynes-Roberts

photo credit: Mark Raynes-Roberts

Camilla Gibb
Camilla Gibb is a writer, creative writing instructor and the June Callwood Professor in Social Justice at the University of Toronto. She is the author of four internationally acclaimed novels: Mouthing the Words (City of Toronto Book Award), The Petty Details of So-and-so's Life, Sweetness in the Belly (Trillium Award; Scotiabank Giller Prize shortlist) and The Beauty of Humanity Movement, as well as the bestselling memoir This is Happy (a finalist for the RBC Charles Taylor Prize). Gibb has a Ph.D. in social anthropology from Oxford University and has been writer-in-residence at the University of Toronto, the University of Alberta and the Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies at UBC.

 photo credit: Ken Woroner

photo credit: Ken Woroner

* Kathryn Kuitenbrouwer
Kathryn Kuitenbrouwer is the bestselling author of the novels All The Broken ThingsPerfecting and The Nettle Spinner and the short fiction collection Way Up. Her latest novel All The Broken Things was a finalist for the Toronto Book Award and longlisted for CBC’s Canada Reads 2016. The Nettle Spinner was a finalist for the in Canada First Novel Award and the ReLit Award. Way Up won a Danuta Gleed Award. Kathryn's fiction has appeared in Granta Magazine, The Walrus, 7X7 LA, Significant Objects, and Storyville, where it won The Sidney Prize for Fiction. She has taught creative writing both online and in class at the University of Toronto and The New York Times Knowledge Network. 


Kyo Maclear 
Kyo Maclear is an essayist, novelist, arts writer and children's author. Her books have been translated into fifteen languages,  published in over twenty countries, optioned for theatre and television, and garnered nominations from the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction, the Governor General's Literary Awards, the TD Canadian Children's Literature Awards, the First Novel Award, and the National Magazine Awards. Her most recent book is the hybrid memoir Birds Art Life (2017). Kyo lives and works in Toronto, on the traditional territories of the Mississaugas of the New Credit, the Haudenosaunee, Métis, and the Huron-Wendat. She holds an MA (Cultural Studies and Education/University of Toronto) and is currently completing a PhD (Environmental Humanities/York University).

* Shani Mootoo
Shane Mootoo is the author of the novels Cereus Blooms at Night, which was shortlisted for the Giller Prize and longlisted for the Man Booker Prize; He Drown She in the Sea, which was longlisted for the Dublin IMPAC Literary Award; and Valmiki’s Daughter, which was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. Her most recent novel is Moving Forward Sideways Like a Crab. Mootoo was born in Ireland and grew up in Trinidad. She immigrated to Vancouver more than thirty years ago, and now lives near Toronto.


Michael Redhill 
Michael Redhill’s most recent novel, Bellevue Square, won the 2017 Scotiabank Giller Prize. His previous novel, Consolation, was long-listed for the Man Booker prize and won the Toronto Book Award. His first novel, Martin Sloane, was a finalist for the Giller Prize and winner of the Commonwealth Writer’s Prize for Best First Novel (Canada/Carribbean). He is also the author of Fidelity, a collection of short stories and four poetry collections. As a playwright, his most recent works are Goodness and Building Jerusalem, winner of the 2000 Dora Award for Outstanding New Play and finalist for the 2001 Governor General’s Award. He also writes mysteries under the name Inger Ash Wolfe. Redhill lives and works in Toronto.

Linda Spalding
Linda Spalding was born and raised in Kansas. Her novel, The Purchase, won the Governor Generals' Literary Award for fiction. She is the author of three previous novels and two acclaimed works of nonfiction, The Follow, which was short-listed for the Trillium Book Award and the Pearson Writers’ Non-Fiction Prize, and Who Named the Knife. Her most recent novel, A Reckoning, was published in 2017.

Susan Swan
Susan Swan is a novelist, journalist and educator. Swan’s fiction has been published in more than 20 countries and her debut novel, The Wives of Bath, was adapted into the film Lost and Delirious. Her novel What Casanova Told Me was a finalist for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize and a Globe and Mail Best Book and her essays have appeared in multiple publications. She is also an advocate for Canadian writers and was previously chair for The Writers’ Union of Canada. Her latest novel The Western Light is a prequel to The Wives of Bath; it is being made into a feature film with Clique Pictures.

Additional Guelph faculty members who participate in the MFA program include:

Gregor CampbellElaine ChangMichelle EllerayAlan FilewodMark FortierStephen HenighanKaren HouleRic Knowles,  Daniel O’QuinnPablo RamirezJennifer Schacker, and Sandra Sabatini.